Llety Arall

About Us

Our story

‘Llety Arall Cyf’ was set up for the benefit of the community and is owned by its members.

It was established in 2018 as a community venture with the aim of developing an empty building to provide quality accommodation in the centre of Caernarfon. We wanted to offer a uniquely Welsh experience and the aim today, as it was when we opened is to operate in a way which is sustainable and environmentally friendly, making the most of being part of the local economy.

What is important to us…

  • Welsh language and culture
  • Environment and sustainability
  • Local economy
  • Community

Our vision…

“A sustainable enterprise in the ownership of the community that offers an opportunity for everyone to experience the language, culture and heritage of Caernarfon in quality accommodation and provide a space that promotes and supports community activities. Continuously operating in an inclusive way that tackles the climate crisis and plays an important part of the local circular economy”

In order to realise our ambition we ran a campaign to attract investors so that we could buy and renovate the building. Since we opened the share offer in 2017, we have raised over £150,000 which has enabled us to transform 9 Palace Street from a derelict building into to quality accommodation that attracts visitors from Wales and from around the world.

The building

The building

 Palace Street became a bonded warehouse after Caernarfon became a bonded port in 1842. The port’s designation meant goods could be imported without taxes being paid until they were sold after processing.

Bonded warehouses were needed in the town, to store the goods under strict conditions to prevent smuggling. This building was one of three bonded warehouses in Palace Street, the others were in the Market Hall’s cellar and at the Pen Deits Inn (on the corner opposite the castle). Another bonded warehouse, operated by Morgan Lloyd, was built into the slope between the slate quay and Y Maes (Castle Square).

The Pritchard family owned 9 Palace Street c.1826. It’s believed they traded in wine and spirits, when the building was also an inn known as the Vaults. There were extensive cellars for storing imported goods.

In 1868 Williams, Evans & Co were the owners, and by then it was a customs warehouse where spirits and wines were bottled before being sold at a price which included tax. Shortly later, under owners Davies & Griffiths, the rear of the building was merged with 14 Hole in the Wall Street.

In the late 19th century there were 13 pubs in this short street! There were c.60 in Caernarfon.

From 1935 to 1965, W Rowland & Co of Bangor traded here. Wines and spirits were still sold here in the 1970s. Since then the building has had various uses, including an outdoor shop and a gym. In 2016 it was taken over by community benefit society Llety Arall, owned by its members, and converted into guest accommodation with a ground-floor shop and a rear yard for community activities.

(Adapted from original text by Clive James, of Caernarfon Civic Society)

We acknowledge the financial support of Enterprising Communities Fund to develop this website.

Printed from www.lletyarall.org at 03/12/2022 00:15:33.

Llety Arall, 9 Stryd y Plas, Caernarfon, Gwynedd LL55 1RR

Phone: 01286 662907
Email: post@lletyarall.org